Colorado Counselor Licensure Requirements
Individuals licensed in Colorado are designated Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC) and the state requires a 48-credit master’s program. The licensure law which passed in 1988 only controls who uses the title of LPC. Anyone can practice counseling in Colorado, however, if they are providing mental health counseling services as defined in the law, they must be signed up in the state database. The Colorado State Licensure Board information is at www.counselor-license.com/states/colorado-counselor-license.html.
Following graduation, 2,000 hours of counseling practice in a minimum of two years is required. The law does not specify if any of the 2,000 hours must be direct contact. One hundred hours of supervision by an individual approved by the board is required. The supervisor can be anyone licensed in a mental health profession. Only 30 of the 100 hours can be in the form of group supervision. The National Counselor Exam (NCE) is required for licensure and the state also requires a Jurisprudence Exam which the counselor downloads and completes at home.
Several universities in Colorado allow graduate students to complete the NCE before receiving their degree. That makes possible the receipt of the National Certified Counselor credential at graduation if the academic program is accredited by Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP). Later, graduates can use the exam results for state licensure. Some universities also require the Counselor Preparation Comprehensive Examination (CPCE). The following universities have arranged with NBCC for their students to complete the NCE before graduation:
Adams State College
Colorado State University
University of Colorado at Colorado Springs
University of Colorado at Denver
University of Denver
University of Northern Colorado
University of Northern Colorado at Denver/Colorado Springs